Upcoming Destiny Maintenance Update Announced

The update won’t add or tweak any gameplay features. 

Bungie recently announced that an upcoming server maintenance update for Destiny will take the game offline for about four hours. According to Bungie’s latest weekly report, the update is scheduled to be deployed this upcoming Thursday, May 4th, at 10 a.m. PST (1 p.m. EST).

If all goes well, Destiny’s servers should be back up and running no later than 2 p.m. PST (5 p.m. EST) which means the game will be unplayable for about four hours. The update is simply meant to strengthen Destiny’s servers and will not introduce any new content into the game.

View Gallery

Bungie also reiterated in the maintenance announcement post that they will continue to support the original Destiny servers through the release of Destiny 2 and beyond, so players shouldn’t feel pressured to immediately hop into the sequel if they don’t want to. Destiny 2’s worldwide gameplay reveal is set to premier on May 18th.

For more on the latest Destiny news, be sure to check out how the Destiny companion app now has iMessage stickers, recap this week's Destiny Armsday inventory, and learn why some Redditors believe the Fallen may be the good guys in Destiny 2

About The Author: Nate Hohl

Nate Hohl has been a gamer all his life, but it wasn't until after graduating college that he realized he could combine his love of gaming and his passion for writing to help support the industry he cares so deeply about. When he isn't writing about games (or playing them), Nate enjoys reading a good work of fiction (mysteries are his favorite), watching movies, or going for hikes in the woods.

Read My Articles